To become a conductor, a dream?


Elim Chan, a young woman, won in  conducting competition founded by Donatella Flick, in partnership with the London Symphony Orchestra.

Elim Chan said : “Becoming a conductor – I just had this idea when I was really young, when I saw the conductor go on stage, working all these wonders, I [thought]: I want to be up there!”

“[While I was looking] at the musicians, and the music was happening, it was so unbelievable because it’s almost like it’s not me there and it’s not them there, it’s just the music, and once I looked in their eyes everything was connected…”

(be a conductor): “It’s like a lens, like a glass, [but] you cannot shine on your own, you need the light, something to shine through you… [and] that’s the music from the musicians, and the passion! Then it goes out there for the audience, and goes back to the musicians, too, and for myself!”

 

CONDUCTOR

Donatella Flick founder of conducting competition is a 21st century patron of the arts, descendant of a noble Ossetian family:  “It’s very difficult to find female conductors. I don’t know why but this is an increasingly masculine job. Women do approach it, but the path is very long. I believe it’s a job where great mental and physical strength is required… the heart too… your brain and soul together, but above all you need physical energy.”

“It’s changed so much in the last five-ten years… I strongly believe patronage is a duty, especially today. It’s extremely important, and there’s not enough of it,”

After this interview, for the first time in this competition, a young woman emerged as the winner.

 

Rispondi

